A baby makes me think…

Our precious daughter, EK (as she’ll be known on the blog), arrived 9 days ago.  She has already been a total joy and blessing from God.  So many things overwhelm me after childbirth.  My mind swirls with spiritual parallels and fresh awe in God.  I’ve always said that raising kids is like unwrapping a gift each day.  You just never know what you’re gonna get with kids.  God has created each one so uniquely that it’s always an adventure to learn them.  This philosophy may not be for everyone but my hubby and I agree that it’s our job as parents to discover who the child is that God has placed in our care to raise.  Rather than have an image of who our child will be and working toward it, we beg God to give us His image of them so that we may work toward that.

Steven Curtis Chapman has a song titled, “Holding a Mystery”.  That title replayed over and over in my head as I held our precious new daughter in the hospital.  She feels so perfectly placed in my arms, like I’ve known her forever while at the same time, she feels like a total mystery.  What gifts, desires, challenges, and passions has God already placed in her?  I’m so blessed to be her mom, the one who gets to daily discover those things as I seek my Father in trying to raise her.  How I pray that God will make us good stewards of these 3 children He has given to us.

Labor itself holds so many spiritual parallels for me as well.  As I’ve often said, there is no one experience on earth besides labor in which you feel both the hatred of sin and the love of grace so poignantly.  This particular labor went quickly which was great but also made it really intense.  From the time my contractions hit to the time she was born was about 2 hours.  My body had a lot of work to do in those 2 hours!  I felt like I was literally being ripped apart but one thing I love about birth without anesthesia is that once the baby is delivered, its pretty much over.  This has amazed me with each of our births – the pain is more intense than my nervous system can even seem to register and then baby is here, and it’s gone.  It’s truly an amazing experience.  The spiritual parallel for me here is our birth by God’s Holy Spirit from eternal death to eternal life.  A baby is delivered from darkness to light.  A Christian is delivered from darkness to light.  Once we are in the light, the darkness is over much like the pain of labor.  By that I mean, sin is defeated.  In Jesus’s words, “It is finished.” (John 19:30)  “In Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.  The light shines in the darkness and the darkness has not overcome it.” (John 1:4-5)  Our spiritual status is forever changed from lost in darkness to found in eternal light.How I praise Him!

For me, there are few things like a new baby that make me think so much.  Maybe that’s one of the many genius reasons behind God sending Jesus into the world as a baby.  I think I’ll enjoy pondering that over this Christmas season.

Lord, I praise You for holding us and knowing us intimately.  I am not a mystery to You.  My frame was never hidden from You.  You intricately and purposefully wove me together in your secret place (Psalm 139:15).  Lord, thank you for bringing me out of darkness and into your marvelous light.  Thank you for defeating sin and its horrors.     Thank you for your bounteous grace.  Thank you for our daughter.  Thank you for the gift of Jesus.  Amen

4 thoughts on “A baby makes me think…

  1. Congratulations on the birth of your baby girl!! I enjoy reading your blogs and thank you for allowing me to enter into your life through your words and experiences.
    I too had an unmedicated birth (a planned home birth) with our 3rd after having 2 c-sections. Something happened to me on that day that makes me relate to what you have written.
    Thank you for sharing and much love to you all!!

  2. That is so earth shattering that it makes me cry, (which I did), and wish I could go back and re-raise my son. You are so truly blessed in GOD’S love, and your own with your truly wonderful family. GOD bless you and yours during this blessed season. Love, me.

Leave a Reply

