Simple Truth

We sing “Jesus Loves Me” right before we put our 8 month old to bed.  It’s funny how when she hears that song now, she starts to nestle into the chest of the one holding her.  I started wondering if it was bad that she’s learned to get sleepy at the sound of the song but my very next thought was, there’s no better way to go to bed than to fall asleep with these lyrics in your head…

Jesus loves me this I know for the Bible tells me so.
Little ones to Him belong.  They are weak but He is strong.
Yes, Jesus loves me.  Yes, Jesus loves me.  Yes, Jesus loves me.  The Bible tells me so.

Jesus loves me He who died, Heaven’s gates to open wide.
He will wash away my sin.  Let the little child come in.
Yes, Jesus loves me.  Yes, Jesus loves me.  Yes, Jesus loves me.  The Bible tells me so.

 

The truth doesn’t get any simpler than that.   Rest easy, my friends, in the love of Jesus.

One thought on “Simple Truth

  1. Agreed. My mom used to sing a number of songs to us at bedtime but the one I continued to sing to myself that soothed me the most was “Jesus, name above all names”. Now I sing it to my kids at bedtime every night. There is no better way to settle down and sleep peacefully than thinking on Jesus.

    “Jesus, Name above all name, beautiful Savior, glorious Lord. Immanuel, God is with us, blessed Redeemer, Living Word”

Leave a Reply

