My Prayer

     This time of year is so magical and so overwhelming at the same time.  I love the widespread Christmas spirit yet I’m also strangely burdened by it.  I find myself often feeling torn between 2 extremes … I want to find the perfect gift for everyone on my list but the finances required are overwhelming.  I want to attend every party and event, but it takes a toll on our young family.  I want to… but….

Does anyone relate?

 

Thank God for His Word!
Psalm 119:36-37 has become my meditating thought these days:

“Incline my heart to your testimonies, and not to selfish gain! 

Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways.”

 

I hate to admit it but my days are often spent in pursuit of selfish gain and worthless things.  And the list can be long this time of year… a well decorated house, a yummy Holiday dinner, the perfect Christmas card, and on and on.  As I feel the weight of those worthless things bearing down on me, God reminds me of this verse.  Oh how I want Him to incline my heart to His testimonies!  May I not be too busy to see His work all around me… in the hearts of my kids, in the love of friends and strangers, in the beautiful families on those Christmas cards we receive.  Oh Lord, turn my eyes away from looking at worthless things that crush the life out of me.  Your ways give life.  Thank you Lord!

One thought on “My Prayer

Leave a Reply

