A Simple Way to Study your Bible

I know that studying my Bible can sometimes overwhelm me.  If I don’t have a plan or a method, I fumble around or read lazily without much comprehension.  And I have a sneaky feeling that I am not the only one.

So I’m going to share my simple way of studying the Bible.   I really enjoy God’s presence as I meet Him this way.  It is nothing profound but more a way to converse with God through His Word.  I write in a journal as I do this but you could also just read aloud or to yourself in prayer.   Psalms is one of my favorite books of the Bible and I enjoy beginning my time with the Lord by reading a Psalm.  So for today’s example, we’ll use Psalm 4.   For clarification in my journal, I write Scripture in cursive and my thoughts in print.  In this post, Scripture will be bold and my thoughts will be regular.

Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness! O Lord, thank you for hearing and answering me.  I am all unrighteousness.  You are all the righteousness I have.  You have given me relief when I was in distress. Yes Lord, thank you!  Be gracious to me and hear my prayer!  

O men, how long shall My honor be turned into shame? How long will you love vain words and seek after lies?  Father, I know I have loved flattery and vain words.  I know I believe the lies and offers of this world.  Forgive me.  Thank you for your forgiveness.  Give me an appetite for truth and truth alone.    But know that the LORD has set apart the godly for Himself; the LORD hears when I call to Him. Lord, thank you for being merciful and hearing me when I call to You.  Set apart my entire family line for You.  Father, claim every head for your Kingdom and let us be light for You in this world.

Be angry and do not sin; ponder in your own hearts on your beds, and be silent. O Lord, I need your help with this one.  Give me wisdom to be quiet, introspective, thoughtful instead of rash and judgemental.  Offer right sacrifices, and put your trust in the LORD. Yes Lord, may my offerings to you be true, right, whole-hearted.  You are trustworthy.

There are many who say, ‘Who will show us some good? Lift up the light of your face upon us, O LORD!’ Father, may I not be one who just wants you to show me good.  You have put more joy in my heart than they have when their grain and wine abound.  Thank you for giving joy that is more full than what any worldly thing can give.

In peace I will both lie down and sleep ; for You alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety. In your presence is peace, my God.  When I lie awake at night, anxious, remind me of the safety I have in being close to You. Thank you for being my refuge.

I hope you enjoy some time with God today.  As a wise lady once told me, “Above all else, stay close to Jesus.”

2 thoughts on “A Simple Way to Study your Bible

Leave a Reply

