Beautiful Order

It’s snowing in our city today.  This happens so rarely that people go certifiably insane.  There is a rush on the grocery store, chaos on the road, and anxiety in every parent who has a child in school. And when I say it’s snowing, I mean, there are flurries of snow falling from the sky and melting on the ground – no accumulation.  The way snow makes us behave in the South must blow a Northerner’s mind.

But I really can’t say anything because here I am tucked in my warm little home with my kiddos, watching the snow through the window.  It’s really beautiful when you just sit and watch it fall.  It’s hard to believe it has school-cancelling, accident-causing, fear-inducing power.  From this side of the window, it’s purely mesmerizing. At first glance, it looks like an unrehearsed dance – beautiful but illogical. But as my stare lingers, I recognize order in the falling snow.  The majority of the flakes fall at the same rate, in the same direction, with similar spacing between flakes.  You don’t see a huge snowball fall next to a single flake or a lightning fast one next to a barely moving one.  There is order.

Immediately, I think of my life.  From my limited perspective, my life often feels out-of-order.  There are things I don’t understand, things I can’t fix, things that cause fear – disorder.  Yet there is a God who is ordering it all, much like He orders the snow.  In my stillness, the Creator’s design of the snow revealed itself.  How often does my lack of stillness obscure my view of His order in my life?

Lord, You tell me to “be still and know that you are God” (Psalm 46:10).  Forgive my lack of stillness.  Teach me this godly practice.  Thank you for making the snow so beautiful through your order.  Give me a heart of trust in You and your beautiful design for my life.  Amen

 

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Order

  1. And just like there is nothing we can do to hurry the snow or stop the snow, there is nothing we can do to hurry or stop God’s ordering of our lives. Oh to be still and rest in that! Love you!

Leave a Reply

