Mom Interrupted

Every single thing I do in life is interrupted.  I’m sure every mom can relate.  I’m folding laundry this morning and I realized how crazy interrupted my life is as I stopped for someone about every 2 shirts. There is interruption when I am cooking, eating, reading, going to the bathroom, taking a shower, sleeping, and having a conversation with my hubby. Trying to talk on the phone is an absolutely comedy show.

I know this is no news to any mom.  In fact, life’s interruptions are a big part of our job descriptions.  And for me personally, it’s for those moments that I like to be at home and present with my kids.  But today, I’m trying to get the family ready for a trip (which makes a mom’s list a mile long) and I just find myself annoyed.  After interruption #172 from the same child during the same load of laundry, I asked God, “Lord, how do I manage this?  I want to tend to him but my other responsibilities are calling.”

Immediately, the Holy Spirit brought to mind 2 things…
1. I have access to Him through prayer 24 hours a day, every day. I interrupt Him constantly and He is never annoyed.  In fact, He invites my to “pray without ceasing” (1 Thess. 5:17) which means He invites me to interrupt Him constantly.
2.  I’m reading through the book of 1 Corinthians lately and I love how no second spent in His Word is ever wasted.  When I’m reading His Word, I’m much more often reminded of what it says than when I am not consistent in reading.  For the last few days, I’ve been in chapter 13, a familiar passage to many.  It’s about love.  My journal writing has been something like this… (Scripture in Italics, my words in regular font.)

Love is patient and kind.

Lord, how often I am impatient and unkind with my kids… but I love them so much.  By this definition of love in your Word, I am unloving. You are so patient and kind with me, showing me the depth of your love.  Let me be a parent who is much more like You.  Thank you Lord.

All of the sudden, these “interruptions” in my day seem a lot less annoying and a lot more divine.  Thank you Lord for using the mundane things in my every day life to stir my heart toward You.  You are an awesome Teacher.  How I long to be a student who reflects You!

2 thoughts on “Mom Interrupted

Leave a Reply

