Brain Update 4

I am so happy to share today that I am really getting better!  This past weekend, we saw a bit of a turning point in my memory, energy, and ability to tolerate noise and light.  I’d say I’m up to about 70% of normal now and that feels great.  This has been such a strange experience. Maybe because it was so unexpected, maybe because I was so ignorant about brain injury, I don’t know but I think it will take me a while to keep processing.

I am able to tolerate short spurts of reading now (Hallelujah!) and a few days ago, I was reading back through my devotional journal.  I’ve been studying the book of Colossians and this was right at the beginning of my study, from September 1st.  I copied the following verse…

 

 

“We always thank God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, when we pray for you, since we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and of the love that you have for all the saints, because of the hope laid up for you in heaven.” Colossians 1:3

Then I wrote, “Lord, how I would love to be known like this…having great faith in Jesus, love for the saints, and hope of heaven as a motivating factor.  Lord, is my faith too safe?  Am I showing my kids extravagant love or just love+busyness? I don’t want faith to seem boring to them.  Help me with this Lord.  In my daily routine and life, will You help me display great faith, hope, and love?

Reading this over a month later, knowing all that this month has held, my prayers came alive to me in a different way.  The answers to my questions are clear.  Yes, my faith is too safe.  No, I am not showing my kids extravagant love. Yes, I am showing them lots of love + lots of busyness. Yes, our schedule is way too crazy.

I don’t want to over-spiritualize this whole experience, but I really do want to learn from it. And I think that God totally chose this to interrupt our lives to make us ask some hard questions and re-evaluate some things.  I feel like my spiritual toes are on the edge of the cliff and I’m excited to see where God leads next.

3 thoughts on “Brain Update 4

  1. We have no way to know what God’s plan for us on earth are, but we do know our salvation. Little things I complain about are miniscule compared to what you have been going through. I think God was preparing you all these years with your intense study of his word and dwelling in him. I am praying for your recovery. I know brain injuries are the scariest because of the vast unknown and effects they have on our very understanding of life as we know it. I just think of Jimmy Umlauf saying we will go through traumas and Elizabeth Myatt saying to study his word so that we can be comforted during the storms. He is holding you! Praying for all of you!

Leave a Reply

